2013-14 APA Board, Official Call for Nominations

February 17, 2013 11:00 pm

Each year, the APA Board election process begins with an official call for nominations from its members.  APA members interested in serving on the 2013-14 board should email APA Nominations Chair and Past President, Debra Amirin (amirin@law.ufl.edu).

APA Board members are volunteers who give their time to improving the work environment for staff at the university.  Serving on the APA Board provides unprecedented access to senior leadership and is an excellent opportunity for those seeking professional growth, leadership development or for those who simply want to make the university a better place.

The first Academic and Professional Assembly (APA) meeting was held on February 19, 2003, and the APA became an official university sponsored organization on March 3, 2003.  A core mission of the APA is to serve as a conduit of information between staff and administration at the University of Florida.

The APA Board is responsible for:

  • Attending to all professional issues that affect its members;
  • Nominating members to serve by appointment on university committees;
  • Be the representative voice of its members to the university administration and other groups as appropriate on matters of policy and operations that affect its members and/or the execution of their institutional duties; and
  • Foster collegial relationships among its members and all members of the university community toward the common goal of promoting professionalism, creativity and leadership.

Nominations will be accepted via email prior to the annual meeting on April 25 or from the floor that day. Voting on the final slate will open as soon as possible after the APA meeting in April 25. The new officers’ terms will begin after results are certified in early May.

Open positions include President-Elect, Program Chair, Membership Chair, Secretary/Treasurer and Publicity Chair.  See Article 3 in the APA Bylaws for an overview of APA Board responsibilities.  All APA board members serve a one-year term, with the exception of President-Elect, who serves a three-year term (1st year as President-Elect, 2nd year as President, 3rd year as Past-President).